MACE's Board of Trustees

MACE has a committed and dynamic board of trustees. 

Image of MACE board member, Sue Malden.

Sue Malden - Chairperson

Sue is an independent media archive management consultant. Formerly head of BBC Broadcast Archives, she currently chairs the Federation of Commercial Audio Visual Archives (FOCAL) and is a member of the Royal Television Society History Group.  

Image of MACE board member, John Buckby.

John Buckby

John is the Head of Intellectual Property and Media at Spearing Waite solicitors in Leicester. He also has a background in the independent music sector.

Image of MACE board member, Garry Campbell.

Garry Campbell

Garry is currently Metadata Services Delivery Manager, Platform and Common Services, BBC Engineering. He was formerly Head of BBC Regional Archives.

Image of MACE board member, Krista Cowman.

Professor Krista Cowman

Krista is Professor of History at the University of Lincoln. She is widely published in the field of women's history and particularly in women's political history in the early twentieth century. She is director of research in the university's College of Arts.  

Image of MACE board member, Amanda Huntley.

Amanda Huntley

Amanda is the Managing Director of Huntley Film Archives. She has been working as a film archivist for over thirty years. She is currently on the board of FOCAL and London’s Screen Archives as well as MACE. 

Image of MACE board member, Ray Johnson.

Professor Ray Johnson MBE

Ray is an Emeritus Professor at Staffordshire University and formerly Professor of Film, Heritage and Documentary. He established the Staffordshire Film Archive, which is now being cared for at MACE. A filmmaker, playwright and actor, he is the vice president of the Arnold Bennett Society.

Image of MACE board member, Paul Long.

Professor Paul Long

Paul is the Professor of Media and Cultural History at Birmingham City University. He has written extensively about class, culture, soundscapes, radio and popular music as well as the cultural politics of the City of Birmingham. He also edits a website dedicated to the work of filmmaker Philip Donnellan.

Image of MACE board member, Steve Sharman.

Steve Sharman

Steve Sharman founded Hackthorn Innovation to help storytellers use technology to tell the most engaging stories that they can, in the most effective and efficient ways possible. He was previously CTO of Mediasmiths and Chief Architect, Media & Entertainment for IBM.

Image of MACE board member Phil Youngson.

Phil Youngson

Phil is Production Specialist, Broadcast at ITV Central in Birmingham. He is ITV's nominee on MACE's board and is one of our most regular and sympathetic contacts at ITV Central in Birmingham.